Showing posts with label Madonna. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Madonna. Show all posts

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

True or False

I can't sleep and I have a cold so I'm curled up in my living room watching TV with the kitty sleeping next to me. Will & Grace is on and it's the episode with Madonna. Hello again late-night musings and Madonna. You always seem to go hand in hand.

She's not a very good actress, is she?

I do enjoy her brassy, weirdo character she assumes whenever she's, "laughing at herself," in roles (like she did on SNL with Wayne & Garth and right now on this show, too) but it comes off as trying too hard. Oh well, you can't be completely perfect darling.

I'm working on a new project and it does involve this blog in a way but that's all I want to say about that. Good night everybody.

...my cat just fell off the back of the couch. Good lord, she and I should be sitcom. 2000s had the sassy girl and gay best friend/roommate that everyone identified with but the 2010s? Yeah, it's all about the bespectacled night owl chicks with their personable and occasionally grouchy cats and their adventures on the Internet.

Thursday, October 21, 2010

I Am So Smart. S-M-R-T. I Mean, S-M-A-R-T

There needs to be more totally excellent, tubular, and various other '80s synonyms for awesomely bodacious female characters. I mean, we all had Buffy, but as much as it pains me to say it, the show's over. It's gone. Let it die rabid fans, let it die. No, not like when Buffy died and then came back and then died and then came back again. Did she die again? I never watched the second half of the last season. So technically, the show never ended for me. BUT DON'T TELL ME ANYTHING.

Ah Buffy. I was in 7th grade when the intrepid vampire slayer burst on the TV scene and I remember quite clearly telling my best friend that it sounded like the dumbest thing ever and I would never watch it.

Why so serious Joss?


We watched it the way dedicated fans growing outside of the US watch everything; pleading various family members to tape episodes and send them to us. Then we did it with Angel too. I think we rewound and watched the Angel dancing scene perhaps a million billion times. I do not exaggerate in the least, ever, in my entire life.

Buffy was different from all those other supernatural/sci-fi shows. It was more than a pair of boobs fighting vampires. I mean, that was the gist of it but it had humor and lovable characters and a demon that made Buffy able to read minds which lead her to the amazing discovery that the principal had, "Walk Like An Egyptian," stuck in his head all day! It was brilliant touches like this that made that show the owner of my lonely heart. Move yourself, you always live your life, never thinking of the future. Owner of a lonely heart, much better than a broken heart.

True, the romance shit got old but I never have patience for drawn-out love games. They were never fun, the beat was never sick, and I certainly did not want to take a ride on their disco stick. Ross and Rachel? Probably the most boring two characters on Friends. I don't need to watch two bimbos (can guys be called bimbos? I am making it okay from now on to call guys bimbos too) whine about stuff they should've grown out of in high school. Gonzo and Camilla? Just take that chicken and make her yours, you damn weirdo! Bella and Edward? OH DON'T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON TWILIGHT.

When it came to girls I looked up to, I really didn't have any growing up in terms of pop culture. I'm lucky I had The Muppet Show and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles because at least they taught me how to be a smart, funny, ass-kicking anthropomorphic... thing. But I worry about the youth of today. They're not as smart as I was. Or am. I'm sorry but it's true. I am smart. Pit me, as a child, against any child now and I'm practically a prodigy, a fire-starter, twisted fire-starter. Hannah Montana is not a role model. I'm not even talking about her risque clothes or her trashy family, I don't care about that. She just doesn't DO anything. The day she fights an oozing fungus demon after performing a sold out show, well then I might pay attention but until then, no. She has nothing to offer me or the young girls of today.

But thinking back, I did have girls to emulate. I had My Little Pony. Oh sue me, I like animals. They were colorful and kind and occasionally dealt with crises and didn't wear assless chaps and date 20-year-olds. In fact they taught me a bunch of stuff. A) Being colorful is good. Which, in the broader sense, equals tolerance and acceptance . They taught me that tossing your mane and flicking your tail are good ways to show emotion i.e. don't keep things in, express yourself! You've got to express yourself, hey, hey, hey. Or hay, hay, hay? Yes! Eating is good! Don't have body issues!

I feel like an old granny but the youth of today are just too slutty and dumb. They need to be more like She-Ra! She had cool outfits AND fought evil. They need to be more like Jem and her Holograms. They had cool outfits AND... well, I really don't remember anything except the outfits but it was a show in the '80s, for girls. I'm sure it had a deeper message because all those shows did.

Cartoons were where I learned everything I needed to know. LISA SIMPSON.


She was smart and she wasn't afraid to show it. Plus, she played the sax. Lisa Simpson is amazing. She had to deal with an average family of average intelligence and still remain sane. She threw in barbs here and there and unless you were on her wavelength, you wouldn't even get them.

There was Daria from the eponymous show as well.


I always got called Daria which was unfair because I had glasses and dark hair but I was not as cynical and dry as she was. She's also another girl that was displayed as, "not the norm." She had a brain and looked down at her brainless, cheerleader sister. But though I quite liked the show, I never aspired to be like her because I never thought you had to be one or the other; a peppy retard or a smart outcast. My school was too small for cliques. We had guys on the basketball team doing drama. I guess I was on the Daria side of the spectrum because I had my three (then she left and I had two) close friends and we were pretty smug about ourselves in relation to everyone else, but I had other friends and people I got along fine with as well. And yes I did drama. Shut up. Did you have the lead in the school musical? I didn't think so.

Disney girls were pretty good examples I guess. I never wanted to be exactly like any of them though.


I liked Belle from Beauty and the Beast (Note: I wrote Beatty and the Beats. Warren Beatty, should you ever need a band, I got the name. You're welcome) because she liked books and she was never part of any crowd, head up on some cloud and I related to that.


I got called weird occasionally because I was a bookworm but hey guess what? MY VOCABULARY IS MUCH BETTER THAN YOURS NOW, WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THAT ASS-BUTT. Ariel was a little whiny and baffling to me for wanting to get married at 16. Snow White didn't really do much of anything except play housekeeper to tiny men. Cinderella, okay she had animals as friends and as embarrassing as this is, I was pretty jealous. Come on, they sewed a dress for her and kept her company! I was pretty lonely when I was little because I went to an international school that no one stayed at for longer than three years so I didn't get a good core of friends until later on. I always thought a pet would help with the not feeling lonely all the goddamn time but I never had a real pet either. Yes, I know I had my turtle who is 15, I think, this year and I love him dearly and I had a bunny for a week that died and a veritable cornucopia of other turtles and goldfish and even a couple chicks but never a pet, pet. One that would keep you company and that you could hug tight, tight, tight. Like Elmyra does in Tiny Toons except a touch less sadistic. Which is why I have an almost unhealthy relationship with my cat now. What am I saying, we're perfectly normal. I love my Egg. She is my soulmate.

But all the Disney girls wanted something more from their lives. They wanted to be themselves but the very best version they could be. I have no complaints about that. There are barely any animated movies coming out these days with that repetitive, yet sensible, message. The girl in How To Train Your Dragon, Astrid, was pretty cool but even she was a minor character. I saw Princess and the Frog and it was just really meh. It sort of had the same air as classic Disney but it didn't have the inspiration, the quirk, the pure heart that Disney used to be so good at. Like Jasmine addressing the camel as the Sultan in Aladdin when they're trying to talk their way out of trouble. That's freaking brilliant. I'm kind of excited for Tangled because the prince is voiced by Zachary Levi from Chuck and we looooove him. We love him so much we switch to the royal we.

But even with Disney, they make the smart girl seem like an outsider. It's just a shame that smart has to be separate from popular or girly or ass-kicking. Why can't someone be all those things? Would it be too unbelievable, too much? Bullshit, it's what everyone should strive for. I am smart, I have a fair number of friends and am relatively charming and personable when I want to be and if given the proper motivation, I could probably beat you up. I also have a relatively large ego (some days, we all have off days) which is quite healthy considering half the girls in this world, and probably several others, hate themselves.

My other role models growing up were my mom, my older cousin Beril who gave me the gift of Bon Jovi (which I wrote about at great length here), and various other ladies in my family. They're all strong female presences in my life then and now. In fact they're so strong, they read these entries and correct my typos. These are my THOUGHTS mother, I can't be held responsible for occasional mistakes when the brain works at the speed it is.

We also had Madonna but that goes without saying. Youngsters these days actually call her a hag! CAN YOU BELIEVE THIS SHIT BECAUSE I CAN'T. Just because the woman is over fifty is no reason why she can't wear leotards that call attention to her crotch. She's a star! She's fabulous! She's directing a movie! I hope it's better than Swept Away! Which I own! It's worse than you can possibly imagine! But we still love her because we are loyal and she taught us that life is a mystery and that everyone must stand alone.

Oh, I also had The Cosby Show. I wouldn't eat a meal without Rudy with me. But not the later episodes with Olivia, she was awful. But there's a nice TV family. Some people sneered that they weren't "believable," but dude, you have to realize it's TV. It's fiction. Things are allowed to stray from the norm. That's what makes them interesting to watch and so fun to emulate. I even met Bill Cosby when I was little. He scared me, I started crying.


I don't think most kids are as lucky as I was and without family, they don't even have the second most important thing; TV role models! We need better shows! We need our cartoons back! Your average young girl likes who? Justin Bieber? A castrato with a stylish lesbian haircut? NO. WRONG. I HATE LIFE.

Except mine. Mine was pretty good. Pity the children of tomorrow. I don't believe they are the future. I decided long ago never to walk in anyone's shadow but I doubt they can distinguish between their shadow and... something clever and witty that I can't think of right now. God, they're killing my brain cells too.

Friday, October 1, 2010

I Go Crazy, Oh So Crazy

I think the universe is trying to communicate with me through my iPod. It's always set on shuffle and the songs that come up really are trying to tell me something, Let's examine the evidence. Yesterday, after my foul mood had somewhat subsided I decided to go to the gym around 8:30 at night. On the way, I listened to my music and the first song to come up was, "Jump" by Madonna, the live version. I love that song and it always cheers me up and gets my adrenaline flowing. Next up was, "She's Got Balls," by AC/DC. Okay, I do have metaphorical balls and I am strong and I will get through the stupid days. Hooray me! And then I stepped off the curb and almost got hit by a bus and the song that started playing right afterwards was, "Blackout." Touche, universe, touche. Then I skipped ahead and it was, "The Lonely Shepherd." Well, yes I do feel lonely most of the time and melancholy music is not going to help that so we skip ahead and get Freddie Mercury's, "Living On My Own." I don't have no time for no monkey business indeed. See? No point in living in sad city when awesome town is right around the corner with, "Bang Your Head," by Quiet Riot. When all else fails, turn to metal. But what does, "Paradise City," right after it mean? I should go where the grass is green and the girls are pretty? LOS ANGELES? OH COME ON. Or... universe are you telling me I should be a lesbian? Oh. Apparently not. The next song was Motley Crue, "Chicks = Trouble." "What in the World," indeed, you said it Bowie. And then Van Halen's, "Poundcake," which also rang true because yes I would much rather be cooking up a long-lost recipe (and eating it) than be at the gym.

Is it bad that I always compare myself to the bigger ladies there and feel a tiny bit better? I did work out pretty hard though, my shirt was soaked through with sweat and I almost fell off the elliptical when I tried to jump down.

On the way home, I always walk by the same bar and hotel in Copley Square. I have this paranoia that the same people are always in there and they always see me trudging home, almost limping, sweaty, tired, and with my bangs scraped back in a weird, flat half-pompadour on my head. I kind of want to go in there, all put together, just to be like, "I don't ALWAYS look like that person, come on you just catch me at the wrong hour of evening."

This are the things I think about on the way home. They have nice doormen though. It was really windy and humid last night and as I walked by the one duty just said, "One more hour, hold out one more hour!' I laughed along with him but unfortunately it started raining maybe 2 seconds after he said that. He wished me a good rest of my night and I did the same for him. See? We're not all mean bastards in Boston.

I always fall for beauty and bath advertisements. I don't think there's a mascara out there I haven't tried. I have decent lashes except they're really light at the ends which pisses me off because of course, every other hair on my Middle Eastern body is darker than Rasputin's asshole but the hair that should be isn't. I still haven't found the perfect mascara and I'm not sure it exists. It's all a scam. I do use a Sephora's blue mascara though and it looks quite good on me and I'll thank you for not calling me a clown. It's a dark indigo blue. Anyway, I also fall for all shampoo and hair and body schemes too. I got a cherry blossom and ginseng shampoo that's supposed to be, "rejuvenating." I don't know what it rejuvenated but my hair smells like candy. I also got Dove's body wash in pomegranate and lemon verbena scent. It felt like I had washed with regular soap after I sued it, rather than the moisturizing extravaganza it was supposed to be. I was all stiff and squeaky. And my hair was stiff too. I mean, I guess stiffness is all right if you're a boy about to score but not on my hair and body. Ew, not like that on my hair and body either. My hair was especially troublesome as I've stopped brushing it when it's wet as that apparently breaks the hair and you're not supposed to brush curly hair anyway, just use fingers.

Ow, ow, OW SON OF A BITCH WHERE'S MY BRUSH? Screw what "they" say. I'll brush my goddamn hair. It looks weird when I don't and my part looks all crooked. Besides, I use enough products for curly hair they should do their job. We're apparently not supposed to shampoo our hair either but gee, having a knot of greasy dreadlocks just never appealed to me for some reason.

I have probably tried every product for curly hair too. I never really see a difference but I have mousses, creams, sprays, no gels because they're gross, spritzy stuff and even weird gummy wax stuff. I don't use it all at once, good God no. At max three. And a diffuser.

Sometimes I wish I had Jane Birkin hair.





But then I'd look like every other scene hipster girl and I think my hair kind of makes me stand out, as dumb as that sounds. I'm sorry but if I'm going to make the effort to look nice and tame my hair into good curls, and pass muster even by the disapproving standards I set myself, dammit I want to stand out. Lady friends, where are you? Validate me as I don't think any guys read this or any of my guy friends though I do bully them over Facebook to. Besides, I really doubt they'd get all mushy about how their non-single friend girl looks good. Though when I first got my bangs I did keep straightening my hair for a while and a couple guy friends did notice and make delightful comments. One has since become an L.A. zombie though and probably would never notice anything different about me now even if I got huge implants and smacked him in the face with them. Well maybe he'd notice that. They are one of the more noticeable assets his current girlfriend has. I'm such a bitch, man.

But. But, but, but he's the one who has forgotten all about us, his friends. I don't get when guys act like that after they get girlfriends. Okay, girls have their faults too, we usually ditch all our friends just to spend time with the boy and I'm guilty of this too back when I first started dating my boy and I do regret stuff like missing out on some things my roommates and then best friends did or had going on. But they probably don't hold it against me and if they do I'm so sorry, I was young and dumb and please tell me what I can do to make it up to you. Boys on the other hand, just seem to lose their souls. I will keep mum on names and I will always be pleasant to their lady companions but this is more to cover my ass than to be tactful. Hey, I'm nice and polite to everyone, even if I don't approve. I'm like my cat, Egg. Lovable and furry and I don't bite unless you don't quit poking me. But I don't think I'm like that. You know what I mean by that. That kind of girlfriend. The kind that throws a shit fit at the drop of a hat? I think i'm pretty mellow. Mellow like my sleepy time tea. It supposedly relaxes you and helps you sleep. Personally, I like the blackout effect of Tylenol PM when I can't sleep. Nyquil is good too but only when I'm sick or else we get in to raised eyebrow territory and no I don't chug cold medicine. Aleve PM is all right too but gives me jerky, fitful sleeping and weird nightmares. Last time, I dreamt I had a Tasmanian Devil tattoo, the Looney Tunes character, and I went to a tattoo shop and asked them to please cover it up and gave suggestions. They flat out said no, it couldn't be done which is when I realized in the dream that it was a dream because what the hell? You're an artist, rise up to the challenge!

Let's look at Megan Fox for a while. I just bought Elle Magazine because she's on the cover. She's so pretty. I enjoy looking at her.




Sometimes she says really dumb things though and I remember the days I really loathed her. Now, she just seems like such a pretty decoration. But like decorations she really shouldn't speak. Only annoying decorations speak. Like that Big-Mouth Billy Bass. Ugh. I will take him to the goddamn river and drown him. Except he's a fish so he wouldn't drown. Fine, I'll take him to the river, tease him by not dropping him in the water, and drown him ashore.

I really don't know how I got from mystical iPods to Billy Bass. I'm gonna eat some Cheez-Its and get back to writing. Don't worry mom they're reduced fat. And it's cheese crackers, how bad can they be? Cheese is protein. right? Oh no that's peanuts. Bang yooooour heeeeaaad.

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Task 26: Hung Up

I was thinking about how I should get back on the Like a Muse Project and I realized, I kind of had! I've just moved into a new apartment and as soon as I charge my camera and the rain stops making everywhere look dark and grey, I'll post pictures. One of the great things about the new place is that I now have a sort of walk-in closet. It's quite small and I still need a dresser with drawers for all my t-shirts, long-sleeved shirts, and other non-hanging tops, but it fits all my other clothes and isn't too cluttered. The bedroom has another closet too which I've given over to the boyfriend except he's not here so all his stuff is still packed up and away until he gets back from Austin, Texas in mid-September. Anyway, my mom got me and my sister each a Madonna 2009 calendar and I've saved it because I didn't want to throw it out even though I didn't really know what to do with it. So I picked out the four pictures I liked most and hung them up in my closet as a personal little Madonna corner. This way, it's just something small that I can see to start off my day (hopefully) all inspired and badass and my boyfriend won't have to put up with an extremely girly decorated apartment because God knows, there's enough femininity everywhere else. Hey, he needs to come hang up his own pictures and actually be here when I'm moving and decorating if he wants to have a say. Luckily, I'm not too girly; the living room will have mostly heavy metal posters, Turkish/Iranian artwork, and vintage posters of Indian/international movies but in Turkish. They're really cool actually, I already had two but I found a few more online and they're all different kinds of films (an old Godzilla, some martial arts weirdness, etc.) and a couple Indian ones but the title is in Turkish and the artwork is hand-drawn. One has an elephant charging and a leopard flying through the air with the title, "Filler Benim Arkadaşım," (elephants are my friends) starring Rajesh Khanna. Here is an example of what I'm taking about, it's not one I got though, mine are way better.


So one of my tasks was to make a Warhol-esque print of pop-art Madonna but instead, I have this. Later, I'm going to get them framed and properly hung up. I have my chameleon Madonna in pictures that aren't very famous in a place that's for my eyes only. Included are my two favorite looks of hers; "Ray of Light," and "Like a Prayer, " as well as two that I just like a lot because they're so different from her usual photos. Much better than the same image in tacky colors pretending that I know "art." I really do have to get used to using my camera though, Blackberry you're just not cutting it.

Heh, how can you tell it's my closet? Ohh maybe the Indian tunics, leopard print, and lace kind of give it away.



Muse Update

Miu Miu, other than being my dad's nickname for my cat, is the "younger" line from Miuccia Prada and apparently the A/W 2010 campaign film was directed by Madonna. Miu Miu is usually too cutesy for me but any time anything involves Madonna, I have to take a look so here it is.


miu miu Fall 2010 Campaign Movie
Uploaded by FBK1976. - Arts and animation videos.

She really should give up acting for good because she is more than a decent director. She directed the 2008 indie film Filth and Wisdom and despite having the typical indie pretentions, I really enjoyed it. Plus it starred Eugene Hutz from Gogol Bordello and I love him.


Filth And Wisdom Trailer A Film By Madonnna
Uploaded by hotterbich. - Watch feature films and entire TV shows.

He also collaborated with her on the Sticky and Sweet Tour version of, "La Isla Bonita (Lela Pala Tute)," which I have been listening to for two years, even before it was officially released.


Madonna - La Isla Bonita (Live Earth 2007)
Uploaded by Schutzengerl1205. - Music videos, artist interviews, concerts and more.

She's currently directing a film about the Duke and Duchess of Windsor and I'm looking forward to seeing it because the subject itself is pretty interesting and the project is all hers. As you may have noticed, I wholly support all her projects!

There are also rumors that Madonna has been offered a Las Vegas stint much like Celine Dion and Elton John; an exclusive contract to perfom a certain number of times for five years at a residence there. She'd be getting a billion dollars making her one of the third highest paid women in the world. I don't know how true this is but if does happen, I do believe it's time to re-visit Las Vegas. Heh, and this time I'm of age and legally allowed to drink, gamble, and go to strip clubs. Because we all know how much I love to do all three of those things.

I still have yet to see her clothing line in stores, only select Macy's department stores are carrying it, but the pieces I've seen just seem like Hot Topic lite for younger girls, except more tasteful. There have been complaints that the line, "sexualizes young girls," but I call bullshit. If you want your kids to remain kids get them off the internet. Don't allow them to have Facebook pages and Myspace accounts because that's what sexualizing them. It honestly disgusts me that elementary school and middle school kids spend so much time on the internet sharing every minute detail of their lives. Sure, I do to but I know the limit. This might make me sound old but Facebook came out when I was in college and was for college kids only. It made sense. Now every psycho and their inappropriately mannered mother is on it and it's a fucking waste. I've had to block someone because they kept trying to convince me they knew me yet I had no idea who they were. And all my information is private. Getting back on the subject, I'd rather a kid of mine (KNOCK ON WOOD, YUCK CHILDREN) wear this stuff than some of the other things I've seen out in the real world.



Other than that and turning 52, Madonna world is rather quiet right now. I need to get back to the project though...

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Lucky Star

My friend just reminded me that it's Madonna's 52nd birthday today! Well this calls for blasting, "Like a Prayer," and looking up old photos. Happy birthday Madame Ciccone, your life has made mine that much more joyous.
This one is for you.


41 - Madonna - I'll Remember
Uploaded by Paadre. - See the latest featured music videos.

Thunder just started rolling outside my window right now. Yep, even the universe growls for her.


Madonna - Rain [Video]
Uploaded by WBRNewMedia. - See the latest featured music videos.



















At her birthday party.


Saturday, June 12, 2010

Candy Perfume Girl/Istanbul Girl

Uuuugh. Okay, okay, like any other female, I have watched the entire Sex and the City series and I did see the film and tonight I saw the sequel. I would like to state for the record I think the women portrayed in this series seem like empty-headed, selfish robots who don't know the first thing about acting rationally (freaking out and thinking the relationship is over because you farted in front of your boyfriend? Really? Show me the girl who actually thinks like this and I will gladly show her the back of my hand) and I greatly dislike the protagonist Carrie Bradshaw. She's neurotic, whiny, obsessive, superficial, and just plain dumb. I have never agreed with any of her choices on the show and I truly hated how she went batshit crazy over just a man and after the hell he put her through (and vice versa) they got married and somehow it was happily ever after.

So why do I watch it? Well firstly, it's pretty entertaining television and as someone who majored in TV (see how I slipped that bit of pretension in? Yeah, it's in cases like this where I can actually do that and feel I can get away with it) I can appreciate the occasional campy situation comedy a certain plotline may introduce. Secondly, I started watching it when I was quite young and it was kind of a "risque" show and I was purely curious but then I felt I had to follow it through because I invested enough time into it that I wanted to see how it ended. It's like a trashy novel; you hate it for the time it makes you waste and for the pure anger and rage it may inspire, but you need to see it through to the end because it's secretly kind of fun, in a masochist self-loathing kind of way. It's not the same as a badly written book, no that you can toss aside and never think about again. It's not even like a bad movie (though for all intents and purposes, the movie I saw tonight was definitely a bad movie) which you can turn off or walk out of. Bad books and films don't quite know how bad they are and operate under the assumption that they're quality material. Like Orhan Pamuk novels. I'm sorry, but when a story is ten pages of run-on sentences highlighted by 45 metaphors, that is not good writing. That's bad writing that thinks it's good. I don't believe Sex and the City believes it's good in any way. The fans are a different story. Especially the ones who identify themselves by certain characters ("Oh I'm a total Samantha!") The series itself is crap. But let me get to the third reason. The clothes and hair. Okay the third and fourth reasons I guess. I know many a person, say my boyfriend, who rolls their eyes and can't understand the idea of watching something just for the clothes. It sounds really, really stupid and like a lame excuse for wanting to watch something you know is bad. Okay, then why do people watch porn? That ain't real sex ladies and gentlemen. Sex and the City is one of the many visual sources for clothing and hair porn that I like to watch. I don't watch real porn because meh, I'm not interested in watching unfamiliar people get it on (as opposed to watching people I know get it on? Yeah don't ever need to see that either). But I do like flipping through Vogue, I do like browsing through various tumblrs, and I like watching TV shows and movies that cater to my want of seeing pretty clothes.

And yes, there were many, many pieces that my mom, cousin, and I oohed over. Though this wasn't as fun as the first movie. With that one there was a good long pause between the series ending and the reintroduction of the characters and everyone knew exactly what it was going to be. This one...well, I think it's time to stop beating this particular dead horse. The movie itself was horrendous and I've never felt such second-hand embarrassment during a film ("It's just like Aladdin and Jasmine but with cocktails!" Augh GAG ME). Nor am I a "Big" or an "Aidan" girl as I disliked both characters and their relationship to our protagonist. I'm not any type of girl really, not in relation to this show or in general. And I don't care how much money the Emirates and Abu Dhabi have, when you don't have taste opulence just looks tacky not rich. I just kept comparing the architecture and decorating of the hot shit hotel (22,000$ per night) with places I've visited in India and no contest. But seeing as how this is the point of this blog, I feel I should call attention to this:

Oh yeah, even they know who the first fashion queen was. Pure shades of Madonna. I'm going to sound like a terrible human being but Christ is Sarah Jessica Parker an unattractive woman. I mean, she's done amazingly well with what she has but she is not a pretty lady. Or a very good actress. I pretty much hate her character the most actually. Why did I watch this show and the movies again? I think I might just be a masochist.

Oh and New York is highly overrated, not that they were in the "City" long enough to showcase that. But that's another bitch for another day. Just saying though, tall buildings do not a romantic and wondrous city make. Oh, that's what kind of girl I am; an Istanbul girl.

Monday, May 3, 2010

Marlon Brando, Jimmy Dean, on the cover of a magazine.

Madonna's going to be on the cover of Interview magazine's May issue, interviewed by Gus Van Sant. I want it. Mm, brass knuckles and lace.

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Quick Update: Lela Pala Tute

Yeah, yeah it's almost been a month. But I have a bunch of posts planned as well as plans to slowly make this a half-fashion half-me blog. I've neglected my tasks for a bit but hey, you try reading a book a day (practically) and writing coverage on it and then attempt to write and read for fun and see how much energy you have. Also, my internship may be turning into a real job and I'm so excited, but I don't want to jinx it. I'll be back soon, probably by this weekend. So quit bugging me mom. I mean, I love you.

But the new Madonna live CD and DVD for the Sticky and Sweet Tour is out! I'm not allowing myself to watch it just yet as I have so much work to do but I couldn't help listening to the record and ohhh, best versions of, "Like a Prayer," and, "La Isla Bonita!" Especially the latter because it's a duet with Gogol Bordello and I love those crazy Romanian gypsy punks.

Also, I shall conquer looking good in jeans again. Any day now.
Related Posts with Thumbnails