Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Pictures of Lily

I forgot how time-consuming and fun tumblr could be. I'm pretty drunk on beautiful images right now so I thought I'd share. My tumblr is http://smokingintheboysroom.tumblr.com/

WANT




If anyone has any plans to propose to me, this is the ring I want.



Monday, July 5, 2010

Shake a Leg

I can only resist for so long. I didn't buy the AC/DC special edition Converse sneakers for a reason. I already had two pairs of Iron Maiden Vans (Piece of Mind and Powerslave and I still secretly want a Trooper pair but so far, no luck), any more music-related footwear and we're stepping into complete loser and kind-of-a-poseur territory. Really, can you be more of a sell-out? Branding is so not metal.

So I said no to the Back in Black high-tops (plus, I don't wear high-tops) as well as the amazing red Lock Up Your Daughters print with Angus's insane mug stamped on them. I mean, okay, I got the normal, black sneakers but that's because I live in sneakers. No matter how much I love and follow all the lady fashion-with-a-metal-edge bloggers that prance around on platforms daily, I'm more of a sea-level kind of dresser. And I needed new sneakers and since the only "sneakers" I wear are Chucks, I got them. You can barely see the Back in Black print on them anyway, so it didn't really count. And I'm a fan! We support our bands.

But then I saw these.

They are leather. They are AC/DC. THEY ARE LEATHER.

Summer and commercialism be damned, I got me some leather high-tops.


...Crap I just found a Lock Up Your Daughters pair on sale in my size.

Sunday, July 4, 2010

I tell you, I was smokin' in the boys room.

Is anybody else having trouble with blogger? I can access the posting page and my dashboard but not my main page. It's starting to really annoy me.

So, in my quest to dabble in every internet fad, I made a tumblr. I used to have one but all the tumblarity drama not to mention the stress of trying to best portray my artistic tastes to strangers was too much and I shut it down. But right now I have a few that I follow and instead of having them as links in my bookmarks folder, I decided to just make a tumblr. If you have one and have pretty pictures and want followers, send me a link.

Mine is smokingintheboysroom.tumblr.com.

Here's the inspiration for the name. Alice Cooper covers it too but it's originally by Brownsville Station.


I have a bunch of pictures saved on my computer but I don't know what to with them. Keep them? Put them on tumblr and delete? But then what if I want to see them and don't want to dig through pages of tumblr? It's little stuff like this that makes my obsessive /anxiety tic come out and frustrates me because really, it's not a big deal, so there's a folder of pictures on my computer. But I like things organized just so, and separated just so, and I don't know. I feel I'd be comfortable with the bare minimum but I like having options and augh. Too much braining, I have the dumb.

Friday, July 2, 2010

Sell Your Body (To the Blog)

I signed up on Bloglovin' to follow all my favorite blogs and put mine on their too. Hey wanna follow each other and be updated every time one of us does something? It's mighty lonely there all by myself. You don't even have to have a blog! Just click on that obnoxiously flashing Eiffel Tower on the right (what? It seemed like the best widget to suit my blog) or the handy link just below.

Follow my blog with bloglovin

Maybe this cutie will convince you.

She looks like a Vermicious Knid.

And I want, and I need, ANIMAL.

I know owls are considered mystical creatures but my memory was kind of failing me on their exact meanings in various mythologies and that just wouldn't do. I am a huge mythology nerd. When I was in fifth grade and my teacher was doing a section on ancient Greece, I kept correcting her on the names and powers of various gods and goddesses. Ancient Egypt captivated me from the moment I first read about their various after-life ceremonies and found out their was an entire city and goddess devoted to cats. Scooping brains out from nostrils and storing the inner organs in various jars? Totally cool, did not freak or gross me out at all. My first tattoo was the Eye of Horus, the left eye which represents the moon and female power/protection. And stupid little thing about me, all my technology-related things are named after gods and goddesses. My computer's hard drive is Seshat; the Egyptian goddess of writing, my Kindle is Clio; the Greek muse of history (represented by a tablet get it?), my old ipod was Persephone and my external harddrive is Proserpina, the Roman equivalent since the Romans copied everything from the Greeks and my harddrive is a copy of everything... look, I mentioned I was a mythology nerd ok?

I like believing in the mystic and I like that people used to believe there was someone to protect them in ever part of their lives. All of my tattoos are all either visual representations of my countries, Turkey and Iran (Persian teardrop with a Turkish evil eye, crescent moon)

and the two outside cultures I've found a connection to, Egypt and India (Eye of Horus, ohm symbol, peacock feather which are also prominent in old Persian mythology and art).

The teardrop has been touched up recently and I don't have any pictures of my two other feathers.

They all have an event of the mystical through symbolism too like the ohm

(as creation began, the divine, all-encompassing consciousness took the form of the first and original vibration manifesting as sound "aum" or ohm, thank you wikipedia for explaining it a lot more snootily than I could), and peacock feathers have powers to help when you need more vibrancy and vitality in your experience. The peacock can also help on your spiritual path, and breath new life into your walk of faith.

If I ever get another tattoo, it would probably be of an Indian, painted elephant.

My sister and I got to ride this gorgeous creature:

I have longed loved animals and I think my connection to them, especially my darling kitty (LOOK AT HER, SHE'S SO WONDERFUL) is worth celebrating. Elephants symbolize power and intelligence and peace to me and every time I've ever seen them, I'm silenced into just watching and taking them in. They're almost noble and other-worldly in their movement and behaviour that yeah, it truly must be something inexplicable and mystical about them that gets me to just shut up and watch.

I like symbols, especially symbols of protection and reasurance and as everyone knows it has the wisdom connotations and was te symbol of Athena but then I saw this:

"In India, a white owl is considered companion and vāhana (vehicle of god/goddess) of Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth, and therefore a harbinger of prosperity. In many Indian languages the word owl is used as an insult, usually in the connotation of calling someone a fool. Prior to the rise of Islam, owls were considered bad omens and associated with evil spirits in most Middle Eastern pagan traditions. In modern times, although such superstitions are less prevalent, owls are still popularly considered "evil" because of their fierce appearance."

Hmm.

Further research turned this up:

"In some middle and far eastern cultures, the owl is a sacred guardian of the afterlife, ruler of the night, a seer and keeper of souls transitioning from one plane of existence to another. The owl’s gift of heightened senses enables it to see through deception, external appearances and illusion and to discover hidden truths."

Of course. Of course I go find something that has ties to death and the afterlife to feel a kinship with. No wonder when we went on that falconry outing on one of our family cruise's, this little fellow was the first thing I saw. He was so cute! There was a lady that was even cuter especially when she swallowed a dead chick but I could only find a picture of this guy.

Yes, my family used to go on a yearly cruise and every stop had outings and we went to falconry in Scotland. We also sailed around the Norwegian coast. Our cruises were so much better than your average, lame, overdone Caribbean vacation. I miss them.

"If you are drawn to owls or owl symbolism, you may have this same ability to uncover secrets. People may feel uneasy around you, as if you are able to see through pretence. The owl also teaches us to acknowledge the dark side of our personality, and in that darkness we may find food for growth.

If people do not speak words that reflect the truth of their actions and motives, owl medicine (as referred to by aboriginal cultures) will guide you with vision and inner knowing to reveal the truth. The owl puts an end to doubt and offers vision and clarity of the truth of events, people or circumstances in your life.

Well then.

"The owl is deeply connected with magic, shamanism and heightened senses throughout the ages. Some have thought of the owl as a “cat with wings” as they share similar characteristics of personality."

!!!

That's perfect, my new owl pet (I have just decided, I need an owl now) can get along with my Egg! I will name him Owlice Cooper. I will of course keep him away from my future bunnies, Bun Scott and Bun Jovi. I have great plans to be a crazy animal lady.

Since owls are nocturnal, a lot of facts about nocturnal animals came up too and since I'm basically nocturnal (I fell asleep around 7 this morning. SEVEN A.M. WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME?) I thought it could apply to my behaviour too, though I kind of turn my nose up at hunting mice by the light of the moon.

"Nocturnal creatures are symbolic of inner-knowing, psychic ability, and intuition. Birds are considered by many cultures to be messengers between earthly creatures and spirit."

Dear Inner-Knowing, Psychic Ability, and Intuition,

You guys are quite the troublesome trio, aren't you? Either manifest already or let me go to sleep.

Love,
Leyla

P.S. I am not a bird.

P.P.S. If you could send me my new pet owl soon, I'd really appreciate it. I have some hidden truths I apparently need to uncover.

Dig Up Her Bones


One of the blogs I follow is a jeweler/artist/writer whose stuff on etsy I keep going and admiring. I've wanted a heavy, necklace I can wear by itself for a while now and I've always been interested in vaguely dark subject matter (not to mention, the heavy metal connotations that come with it) and I fell in love with her, J.L. Schnabel and Blood Milk. That's the blogs header I have posted, I love well-designed headers. Yes, I realize mine is a Paint collage, shh. I've especially been noticing and the various animal skull pendants she casts in metal as apparently I have a skull fixation these days. That's what I get for eschewing skulls and skull prints all my life for being too "commercial punk," and now it all comes bubbling up.

I didn't want a crow skull as I see enough of the actual animal here in Istanbul and they annoy me and though I am quite fond of bats, I thought the vampire bat skull might be a little small. So I picked the owl skull necklace. I like owls and I like all the mythology that surrounds them so I thought it fit. I was going to wait for my birthday or another occasion but eh, I've been feeling blue and nothing cheers me like retail therapy. Plus, there was only one left in stock and I don't like gambling with time. Her Etsy page has a bunch of other stuff I've had my eye on. They're a little pricey but worth it because of the detail and craftsmanship that go into them. Not to mention, they're so limited you won't see them on everyone and their mother. I've been chastised for my frugal shopping (read: cheap) so I'm making an effort to buy well-made pieces that I can keep forever. This goes for jewelry, shoes, and clothes. Though I don't think I can ever give up my gaudy, costume jewelry or simple, girly pieces from H & M. That's asking too much.

Sparrow claw cocktail ring, Lydia (named after a personal favorite fictional character of mine, Lydia Deets from Beetlejuice!)


Harpy eagle claw necklace, doom song of the harpy,


Owl claw pendant, the prophet


You'll see my necklace when I wear it.

The Final Countdown

In the previous post I said there were literally a hundred songs or bands I could think of and I wanted to see if there, literally, were. Since I did it by bands or songs in particular in the other post, I'll do the same for the list. I'm allowed repeats of bands but I'll give myself a limit of two. I'm not sleepy but I'm not awake enough to write the explanations so if you're dying to know you can ask. I'll specify if I mean song or video. In no particular order other than what popped up in my head and deserves a spot:

1) Iron Maiden- Blood Brothers, song
2) Bon Jovi- Something For the Pain, song
3) Jon Bon Jovi (solo) - Destination Anywhere
4) Motley Crue - Rock 'n' Roll Junkie, song
5) Alice Cooper - Give the Kid A Break, song
6) Alice Cooper - Poison, video
7) Faster Pussycat - Bathroom Wall, video
8) Faster Pussycat - Cathouse (remixed), song
9) Twisted Sister- We're Not Gonna Take It, video
10) Turisas - Battle Metal, song
11) Tyr - Hail to the Hammer, song
12) Duran Duran - Hungry Like the Wolf, video/song
13) The Darkness - Growing On Me, video/song
14) Van Halen - Why Can't This Be Love?, song
15) Van Halen - Hot For Teacher, video
16) Gun 'n' Roses - Don't Cry, video
17) Megadeth - Motorcycle, video
18) Def Leppard - Animal, song
19) Tarkan - GĂźl DĂśktĂźm YollarÄąna, song
20) Tarkan - HĂźp, video/song
21) Misfits - Hybrid Moments
22) Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention - Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance, song
23) In Flames - Man-Made God, song
24) Dark Tranquility - Ex Nihilo, song
25) 69 Eyes - Perfect Skin, video/song
26) Hellacopters - Take Me On, song
27) Wig Wam - Do Ya Wanna Taste It?, song
28) Yalın - Küçücüğüm, song
29) Redd - Falan, Filan, song
30) Kargo - YÄąldÄązlarÄąn AltÄąnda, song/video
31) Teoman - Paramparça, sng
32) Turbonegro - All My Friends Are Dead, song
33) Ramones - My Brain Is Hanging Upside Down, song
34) MotĂśrhead - Ace of Spades, live on The Young Ones*
35) Judas Priest - Living After Midnight, song
36) Michael Jackson - Dirty Diana, video/song
37) Madonna - Like a Prayer (I can't believe it took me until 37 to think of it), video/song
38) Madonna - Ray of Light, song
39) Nightwish - Nemo, video
40) The Bangles - Walk Like An Egyptian, song
41) Suede - Film Star, song
42) Supergrass - Time, song
43) T. Rex - Mambo Sun, song
44) David Bowie - Blue Jean, video/song
45) David Bowie - Rock 'n' Roll Suicide, song
46) Meat Loaf - I Would Do Anything For Love (But I Won't Do That), video
47) Sweet - Fox on the Run, song
48) Joan Jett and the Blackhearts - Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah), song
49) Luxury - These Days, song
50) Crash Kelly - She Gets Away, song
51) Scorpions - Every Minute Every Day, song
52) KISS - Shout It Out Loud, song
53) L.A. Guns - Beautiful, song
54) Ratt - Heads I Win, Tails You Lose, song
55) Ratt - Round and Round, video
56) Lordi - Blood Red Sandman, video/song
57) Wicked Sensation - Rain On Me, song
58) Mustafa Sandal - Beni Ağlatma, song
59) Duman - Bu Akşam, song
60) Haddaway - What is Love, song
61) INXS - Disappear, video/song
62) The Poodles - Flesh and Blood, song
63) Prince - Peach, song
64) Prince - Raspberry Beret, song
65) Elvis Presley - (You're the) Devil In Disguise, song
66) Enuff Z'Nuff - So Sad to See You, song
67) Skid Row - 18 and Life, video
68) Queen - I Want to Break Free, video/song
69) Accept - Balls to the Walls, video/song
70) Rolling Stones - Anybody Seen My Baby, video
71) Siouxsie and the Banshees - Face to Face, song
72) Spice Girls - If You Wanna be My Lover, video
73) Slade - Gudbye T'Jane, song
74) Quiet Riot - Cum On Feel the Noise, song
75) Gogol Bordello - Wanderlust King, song
76) Various Artists - Chori, Chori Gori Se, song
78) The Wildhearts - Vanilla Radio, song
79) Backyard Babies - Electric Suzy, song
80) Hardcore Superstar - Shame, video
81) ABBA - Knowing Me, Knowing You, song
82) Annie Lennox - Little Bird, song
83) Kurban - Cennet, song
84) Dio - I Could've Been a Dreamer, song
85) Dio - Rock'n'Roll Children, video
86) Beatles - Help!, song (and movie)
87) Warrant - Uncle Tom's Cabin, song/video
88) Freddie Mercury - Living On My Own, song
89) Billy Idol - Cradle of Love, video/song
90) Motley Crue - Girls, Girls, Girls, video
91) Journey - Don't Stop Believing, song
92) Blondie - Call, video/song
93) Eluveite - Gray Sublime Archon, song
94) The Cult - Fire Woman, song/video
95) Bloodlights - One Eye Open, song
96) Sukhwinder Singh & Sapna Awasthi - Chaiyya Chaiyya, song
97) Iggy Pop - Lust For Life, video
98) Iggy Pop - The Passenger, song
99) Thin Lizzy - Waiting For An Alibi, song
100) The Muppet Show/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles/Beetlejuice/Ducktales/Chipmunks/Jem and the Holograms - Theme Song*

I might not have pretentious, obscure bands that no one has heard of but there it is. I think I just summed up 24 years of Leyla in 100 songs and videos (repeating bands no more than twice).

* Does this count? Judge rules: it counts.

Watch That Video (Sleeze Beez, anyone? Anyone?)

Youtube is still a no-no here in Turkey even with all the computer-whiz stuff my sister's boyfriend attempted on my little laptop, but I remembered www.dailymotion.com (our answer to fighting the lack of online video watching) today! So, to combat boredom during my nightly battle to woo sleep, I looked up and enjoyed all my old favorite videos.

The classic that started it all, Iron Maiden's "Can I Play With Madness"


There was a time when I was obsessed with Aerosmith, I loved them. My email address that I still use is actually an old song of theirs (gypsy__boots@hotmail.com) but when I discovered Hanoi Rock and realized my favorite song of theirs also had the same title, I switched allegiance. I did a summer program at Boston University (waaay before I went there for grad school) where the program director was actually a good friend of Steven Tyler's, as well as a producer on Nine Lives. He showed us all this old footage and told stories about the band (instead of teaching us producing but really, how do you teach that?) and when he found out they were my favorite, he promised me some old junk of their that he got stuck with. He never followed through but for a while there, I was in heaven. I think Aerosmith is still the standard by which I judge music videos (Guns 'n' Roses and Meat Loaf round out the video kings trifecta). Theirs were honestly just mini-films and were so fun to watch, not to mention enjoy the music with. When I think of MTV, especially now that they don't play videos, I always think of the Alicia Silverstone trilogy; "Crazy," "Cryin'," and, "Amazing."

This is however my favorite song of theirs, "Walk on Water." This video is actually taken right off that program, Friday Rocks, on Vh1 that I've mentioned before. Oh those were the days. Staying up all night just to catch maybe one, two if you were lucky, videos you really wanted and it would still be so worth it.


Speaking of switching allegiance, I can't not mention Hanoi Rocks. They were the first bluesy metal/dirty sax rock'n'roll (yes I meant sax, as in saxophone) band I'd ever heard, even before Guns 'n' Roses. Okay, I grew up in '90s Europe, obviously I'd heard Guns'n'Roses before but I never actually listened to Appetite for Destruction all the way through until I was in college. Some people might say blasphemy. I say a big, resounding meh. As it stands, I'm still not a Guns girl and probably never will be. But the similarity between Slash and my messy, curly hair will always guarantee me a fail-safe, last-minute costume on any given Halloween. Anyway, I heard "Gypsy Boots," and my jaw literally dropped. I think it was the first time I got a crush on a song. They got back together not too long ago and recorded one of their best albums and then announced they were breaking up for good last year. I was mighty pissed. Their farewell tours were in Sweden/Finland and Japan. The Japan dates coincided with my spring break from school so, with my boyfriend, we headed off to Japan. Yep, and that's why I can say I followed a band to Japan. Sure, I wanted to see the country and so did my boyfriend. I'd never been and he's a Japan dork (not the crazy, makes-you-cringe-in-secondhand-embarrassment kind) so it worked out. You know what worked out even better? Meeting Michael Monroe randomly in the middle of the Harajuku district.

This was the second Hanoi Rocks song I ever listened to that basically sealed them as my new favorite band. And yes, Michael Monroe is just as terrifying and wonderful in real life as he is in the video.

Hanoi Rocks, "People Like Me."


This was the time when I really got into reading the metal site, Metal Sludge. I kept reading about all these bands that I didn't know (along with the ones I did), so I went on the hugest downloading and music hunting spree that summer. I don't support downloading music illegally and I always spend the money now or buy used but eh, silly little high school girl with no access to music in Istanbul meets Limewire? Come on now. Anyway, this is basically how I met all my '80s L.A. metal but just as a representative of all of them; from the badass end of the spectrum, like Motley Crue, to the silly and kind of softer variety, like Enuff Z'Nuff, here are my loves, Cinderella with, "Gypsy Road." As you may have noticed, I love songs with the word gypsy in them for some reason. Hanoi Rocks, Cinderella, Dio's, "Gypsy," all good by me.

Cinderella, "Gypsy Road."


A current band that's another favorite of mine are Hardcore Superstar. They're of the Scandinavian sleaze variety that I adore so much and I even got to interview the drummer, via email, for one of the sites I worked for. The link to the interview is here (because I'm stupidly proud of what I managed to do via writing and no contact other than editors and publicity people and no chance to write an introduction or commentary whatsoever) and this is the first song by theirs that caught my attention.

Hardcore Superstar, "We Don't Celebrate Sundays."


Number six, the augmented number of the beast, is of course, AC/DC. You show me a genuine metal or rock fan who doesn't like AC/DC and I'll show you a swift kick to the groin. They are without comparison and though I'm a Bon Scott fan all the way, Brian Johnson brings me immeasurable joy with his unmistakable screech. My boyfriend and I suffered through a rush hour, Chinatown bus-ride from Boston to New York to see them. We didn't sleep that night as we had to catch the train back home because I had class at 9 am the next morning but it was so worth it. I love AC/DC, Amtrak, however, not so much.

AC/DC, "Touch Too Much," my favorite off my favorite record, Highway to Hell.


I could literally think of a hundred more songs and bands but I'll just end with a certain man. A certain man my friends and I couldn't believe was for real in high school and who, once I paid attention to, I decided was one of the happiest, most adrenaline-pumping, awe and every other emotion/action- inspiring, individuals on the whole planet. Everyone I know, especially my boyfriend and boy friends, see him as a hero and why not? He just loves music and wants to party. And thinks I'm beautiful.

Andrew WK, "She Is Beautiful."

Thursday, July 1, 2010

I Hate Everything About You


This post's crabbiness is brought to you by the '90s wonder that is Ugly Kid Joe's, "Everything About You." Did you know their name spoofs another one of my bands'; Pretty Boy Floyd. Fun facts are fun.

The subject of my annoyance today is etiquette. No, I am not a 90 year old woman sipping tea with my pinky finger sticking out. Nor am I a finishing school graduate because, let's face it, if I were I wouldn't swear so much in these posts. But I have a bone to pick with certain people and I assure you, manners are not subject to just the elderly or the fussy.

Texting, Blackberry messaging, emailing, cell phones, actual phones, and even regular mail, are all there for us to keep in contact. Not to mention, we have instant messaging, skyping, and God forbid we use this last, desperate measure; actually talking to people. These sources are all there so that we can remain part of what we see as the "civilized" world all the time. You can access the Internet on planes now because of those certain individuals whose precious lives are too important for them to turn off their cellphones for even the duration of a flight. I have no problem with any of these (except, come on jackass businessman, just switch. It. Off. It's not hard and I have enough paranoia about flying and dying without your added wireless interference. Believe me, most of you are probably so uptight, no one really misses your absence anyway so just hit that button and give everyone, including the phone and me, some peace) especially since I'm so averse to talking to people, I'd rather contact them via writing via any of the above sources rather than actually call them.

But when you have access to these controls, you have a responsibility to the people you surround yourself with. What, I ask you, what is the point of having ten thousand ways of staying in contact when you can't even bother to do the oh-so-hard task of pressing a button to either pick up or reply? What's the point of getting the latest in obnoxiously multi-functioning hardware when you don't USE it for the basic, simple function it was made in the first place; contact. Okay, it's understandable if not everyone picks up on the first ring. I'm by no means a cell phone saint as I more often forget to take it with me when I go out than not. And yes, some people are considerate and put their phones on vibrate so maybe while trying to appease the general world around them, they don't hear it. Sometimes it's even better to have a small, unnoticeable vibration rather than a squawking, high-pitched version of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles theme blasting until you finally find the phone, which will undoubtedly be in the last place you look; the pocket in bags which are designated for cell phones. However, guess what? Modern technology is so on top of their game, they have a solution for this! It's called the missed call. So even if you do, despite your best efforts, miss a certain someone getting in contact with you, there's evidence that it happened. This is where your responsibility comes into play. Return the call, you inconsiderate jerk.

My grandmother calls me fairly often when I'm in the States. Sometimes, since she has weird sleeping hours too, it comes pretty late and if I miss it, I don't call her back. Why? Because we have seven time zones between us and oh, I don't know maybe it would be better if she were sleeping at 5 am rather than fumbling around for a phone. But I call back the next day. I love my family and I am diligent about staying in touch with them. Not because I have to, but because I want to. Okay, some of us might be functioning on a different plane and not give a damn what the other is doing. That's their business but even then, if I call them or text them they owe it to me to write back. Yes they do, they owe me that much. It's the same with friends and work too. If someone goes out of their way to do something for you, because face it, contact is as much for you as for those who're trying to contact you, you owe it to them to speak up or provide something in return. This is how society works. These are just the simple, unspoken rules you should know and abide by and if you don't want to, well there's the door. Don't expect anyone to do anything for you when you cut yourself off, seal yourself from the world and from the simple human need to know how their loved ones are doing.

I think emails are the bane of my "work" life. So to speak, as I don't have much of one. Everything that I've had to do outside work for, either paying or non-paying, has been through email. I've had one in-person interview and about 4 over the phone and the rest have all been through emails. Which brings me to my current pickle. Emails are possibly the quickest, easiest, and laziest way you can contact someone. They're supposed to be a relief but noooo. Apparently, even that is too hard for the modern, working person. I've had to figure out, on my own, at least three times when people no longer needed my services when they just stopped emailing me. Hey, you know how you could've avoided all those politely professonal, and one actually concerned for the well-being of the party involved, emails? By WRITING BACK. Say no, say go away, hell, say fuck off we don't want you or like you. Too long? Too much effort? Write BYE as the subject heading and be done with it! There is no need to drag something out and play games with someone's mind and hopes (especially mine because I am a delicate flower) when you can spend literally 15 seconds or less to cut them off.

I admit, I have days when I don't want to talk to someone. Or see them. So I avoid things. But I don't let that go for more than a day or two as it is rude. I was raised better than that and I have trouble believing people older than I am weren't. Okay, so if you're my age or younger shame on your parents true, but shame on you too. It's common courtesy to return a call, to inquire how someone is, to check in with family, to answer a question. Couldn't you have figured that out without being taught manners and courtesy? I'm not asking you to get your elbows off the table or to open the car door for a lady, it's replying and using the many available methods you have at your disposal to simply hold up your end of the contact contract. You're human, you should know this. I'm not asking for a lot here, am I? It's not like I'm getting mad at my cat for not sending me a thank you card every time I get her food, I'm just requesting a place that's looking for work to reply back when I'm actually willing to provide them with what they requested. Do you even consider how unprofessional that makes you look?

Putting aside the business and professional side of this, what about the people you know? Friends and family? "I'm bad at staying in contact," just doesn't fly anymore. It's one thing if you don't want to do it. Fine. I accept that. I don't either. We don't have to, "stay in touch," and just see each other when we do. That's absolutely fine, some people or relationships, just function that way. My best friends and I see each other twice a year, at most and we talk to each other every few weeks or so. But hey, guess what? When I text them something that requires a response or vice versa, we follow through! Why? No, not because we're friends, it's SIMPLE HUMAN DECENCY TO BE POLITE AND TO RETURN A CALL OR A MESSAGE WHEN SOMEONE IS ACTIVELY SEEKING YOU OUT AND CAN'T REACH YOU. Your super-cool, does-everything phone means jackshit to me if you can't use it properly, in terms of replying to something or confirming something or just reassuring me that you're still alive.

I'm going to sit here and fume until you write back, certain place I've applied to. And if you don't within a week I will be going CAPS LOCK ON YOUR ASS. No, I won't but it's nice to dream.

Material Girl

Aw remember what this blog was about originally? Madonna and her daughter have designed a line of clothing for Macy's and though I doubt I'll invest in any pieces (right now it sounds too teenager-y and young for my taste, kind of like 80s Madonna goes to Hot Topic but I'm hoping to be pleasantly surprised when the pieces do come out) it's nice to see her claiming the title of "Material Girl," for the line. God knows she's been referred to as such in every brain-dead article I've read about her.

Related Posts with Thumbnails