Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Like a Muse Part 3: Mötley Crüe

They say a picture is worth a thousand words...

They're just so cool! As you know, I love me some hair metal. Sometimes hair metal gets a bad rep. Screw it, Mötley Crüe are hair metal, they're the originators of hair metal and they're the kings of badassery. Well, they used to be. They've grown up some but they pretty much epitomize sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll and I'm just a sucker for bad boy heavy metal. I have a copy of The Dirt in Istanbul and another in Boston so I can never be too far away from written proof of their antics and they're just, they're my boys. Without them I would never be the person I am today. Maybe that's taking it too far but my music taste wouldn't be anyway. I went to the only Mötley Crüe concert I've ever attended alone because my friend backed out at the last minute and everyone else was out of town but I went just because I had to, it was Mötley Crüefor crying out loud! It was amazing. It was one of those shows where they were just on the entire time and played all my favorites as well as all the classics. I might not be the biggest fan of the individual members (except for Mick Mars whom I think has put up with a lot of shit and still seems to be the same, easy-natured dude), I think Tommy Lee is rather dumb, harmless but dumb like a puppy, and Vince Neil seems like an ass and Nikki Sixx used to be among my gods but now is kind of a try-hard but the band itself and their music will always be there for me to come back to. I'd like to leave you with a couple of my favorite songs but son of bitch youtube doesn't work in Turkey so here are pictures until I get back to a less hypocritical country.



Movin' on up, MOVIN' ON UP

You know what's fun? Decorating. It is absolutely my favorite part of moving in to a new place and since I've moved in and out of various apartments and dorms no less than twelve times in the last seven years, I kind of like to think I know what I'm talking about. Picking out artwork, hanging up posters and frames, arranging furniture to best suit company and provide ultimate TV watching, I love it. The actual moving part gives me panic attacks but once that's past, it's sweet bliss. I've only been in my current apartment for a year but my parents recently invested in property in Boston so it seems stupid to keep paying rent and so, come August 7, I shall be in a new apartment. I won't have to go very far though, the new place is two floors below my place. Yup, it's in the same building. Thank God, I don't think I could handle another major move by myself. As it is, I have my work cut out for me. This is my first "grown-up" apartment, that is, it has a guest room and enough storage that I don't need to keep living out of plastic storage boxes from Bed, Bath, and Beyond. Of course, my first thought was, "How to decorate the beautiful guest room?!" I have more than little bit of Monica from Friends' OCD, I may have mentioned. It's a little daunting if I stop to think about all I have to do. It's a little heart-attack inducing if I stop and think about prices and cost. But I need to buy a pretty big bulk of stuff as if I was moving in anew. I have been living off Ikea and local home store stuff for a while. Hell, I've never even had a dining room table, never had room for it, and usually ate perched in the kitchen or in front of the TV on the coffee table. This apartment has room and basically requires all that, not to mention I have strict orders not to get any "crap." I'll deal with that when I finally get back to the States but for now, I did a little bit of online browsing at my favorite outlets for kitschy artsy odds and ends, Anthropologie and Urban Outfitters and found some stuff that was pretty irresistible.

From the top left going right:
I always like small, shag rugs made of jersey with different colors. Right now, the ones I have are in tones of green but I love the blue and grey shades of this one.

I am a Super Mario nut. I will probably actually buy these decals and hang them up in the bathroom or somewhere very visible.

It's a Ganeshji tapestry! Sure it's not authentic, I mean it is UO, but the long tapestry-like thing I have is used as a shawl (my mommy got it for me from Varanassi and it is filled with vermin holes but it is pink with red sketches of various deities) so this could be a good alternate for something to display. All my kitchen stuff is either Ikea or Bed, Bath, and Beyond. While BBB is pretty long-lasting, I need to start replacing all my dishes and glasses because not only have they dwindled in numbers (my boyfriend and I tend to drop things), some of them have gotten really old. What better way to inject my heavy metal into my kitchen than a guitar spatula?

As everyone knows, I love me some elephants and this candle holder is just too cute. I love candles and scent-y things as well and usually have incense lit and have many unused little candles so I would necessarily count this as a frivolous spend should I go for it...right?

Moving on, I need light. Darkness, much as I hate the sun, is not good for my mental state and though the new place is blessed with sunlight, there's never any harm in extra lighting like this birdcage chandelier or the happy Buddha table lamp. I love the Buddha one especially.

Right above it is a fainting couch. Okay, I've secretly always wanted one and though they're not good for really anything, this is my imaginary decorating spree and I shall have it. Especially since it has that damask/filigree fabric which is one of my favorite patterns. The bedding is just a simple, but very pretty, poppy print on white.

Bedding is what I always think about first when I'm re-doing rooms and right now, I'm quite happy with my room and I don't want to change it especially since my bedcover was bought with money given to me as a git from my great-aunt. But hey! I have another bedroom to decorate! Hooray! I wouldn't buy this online without seeing it in person first but it's certainly along the lines of what I'm thinking of.

Like I said before, I need to slowly replace my kitchen wares and that includes plates. Back on the far left, this peacock set caught my eye because as many know, I have a thing for peacocks. Hate the actual birds but I'm a sucker for their superficial beauty.

And last but not least, a Chinese takeout container shaped trash. Come on, we are talking about the leaders in quirk, indulge me with this amazing receptacle for garbage.

Monday, June 21, 2010

How I Sold My Soul to WRITING

A few years ago, after reading too many Christopher Moore books in a row, I came up with an idea for a story. Most of my story ideas come in script form, and since I spent about 7 years in school writing scripts, I think that's pretty natural. I used to work on a magazine in college and I wrote out this script to submit to it but it was too long at 30 pages and I had too many things I wanted to integrate into it so it didn't really work in that medium. So I toyed with the idea of making it a book, a full-length work of fiction. I'd keep the general idea and the title because it fit with the expanded version I has in my head.

Now, I've written many things from angry letters to Holly Valance's (one hit Australian wonder, used to star in soaps on that end of the world) publicist to 120 page film scripts to emails vaguely hitting on rock stars. I've never written a book. But I've decided it's time. So I made myself a cup of coffee, the beverage of writers (okay, technically the second beverage of writers but it is way to early to start drinking right now) and sat down. Then got back up because coffee makes me go to the bathroom. But then I sat back down. And watched an episode of True Blood. Oh God, is that show trash. I love it. I love it so much. They made vampires fun again! Not to mention, nudity and graphic violence are a win-win combination. Okay, so after that I sat back down again. Well, technically I already was sitting so I just un-minimized the Word document. I wrote out the title and the byline and then went upstairs to play with my kitty.

Are you sensing a pattern? Well, this is how I write. By putting it off FOREVER. I really hope I can break that habit. Or maybe I'll start drinking for real.

I finally spat out a prologue of sorts. You see, my scripts always have a sort of formula to them. I have a completely bizarre introductory scene to set it off, and then I start the story and slowly make my way up to that scene. It's my style so I figured I can use it for this. I already have the 30 page script but I have so many ideas for the book version, I actually sat down and scribbled them all out on a handy pre-storyboarded moleskine I have. I always outline my writing before I write, which is why I had that, but with this, I think I'm going to play it by ear and see how it goes and just use it to not forget stuff I think of along the way. I think I'd target it towards a young adult and up audience. Here's my (unedited! UNEDITED) prologue, do you think it's something you'd keep with and read on?

Prologue – Die Another Day
It’s a dark and stormy night. Of course. These stories always take place on dark stormy nights. What’s sinister about a bright sunny afternoon? No, no there has to be at least some precipitation. But then, “it was a humid late morning,” doesn’t quite work either. It needs to be dark and it needs to be raining. Dirty deeds are always done in the dark. And dirt cheap if Messrs. Young and Scott of AC/DC are to be trusted. So it was a fair bit of luck that the events herein happened on a particularly wet night, highlighted by growling thunder and perfect zig-zags of lightening.
Two figures stand over a body. The rain pounds down like thousands of wet bullets forming a lake of sorts around the motionless body. The two figures bend down to get a closer look. A brief flash of lightening illuminates their faces; one paler than moonlight had there been a moon visible, and the other more mutilated than a Barbie that had an unfortunate run-in with a lawnmower, but with the same sick loveliness.
“Is he dead?”
The figure moans, not unlike a distressed hippo.
“Nope.”
“God. Damn it.”
An exceptionally large bolt of lightening cuts a swath into the inky night, barely missing but further highlighting the speaker’s gruesome porcelain doll face. She glares heavenward.
“I didn’t mean you!”
Her pallid companion laughs. The grey sheen to his skin makes him seem to glow.
“You know, it might make our job a lot easier if he were dead.”
The lightening strikes again. Too close. He stops laughing. He tries to grin but it comes out as more of a grimace as his teeth catch on his lip and he holds up his hands and hunches over. It’s the retreat pose of a wuss who has overstepped his boundaries.
“Maybe another day.”
The figure lets out another moan from the ground.
* * *

Sunday, June 20, 2010

The Last Living Slut: Born in Tehran, Bred Backstage by Roxana Shirazi

So, my job is a reader at a literary agency. I read scripts and books and write summaries along with comments and suggestions and analyze everything from the writing to the format and get paid next to nothing, but that's not the point. Anyway, because of this, I tend to read books critically even when it's not job readings. While I was reading The Last Living Slut... I kept slipping into job mode and I think I'll write a review of it in said mode, albeit more relaxed. After all, I love groupie stories and she's out there claiming to be their new queen. This is also for the vintage groupies community I'm part of back on LJ. Though, I feel I should issue a caution notice for others who read this blog. So tread lightly.

Basically, she is an abused, messed up young woman. She had no father, hence no father figure, when she was younger, got molested and fingered by two different men (a boarder and a neighbor) between the ages of 5-7, and her stepfather beat the shit out of her all through her teenage years. I don't want to get to Freud-ish but man, does that sound like the type of woman who'll have healthy relationship with men and/or sex? She writes that she knows the stuff the men, especially the boarder who lived with them when she was 5, did were bad but she keeps trying to make the point that she liked it even if she knew it meant "she was going to hell." She says she went voluntarily to him, but the neighbor basically raped her. I don't know, it seems too much like she's trying to excuse their behavior, not unheard of with victims who don't know any better, which is reprehensible. The mens actions not hers, she was just a child for God's sake.

She moved to England when the shit storm of Islam, excuse me Islamic Revolution, broke out in Iran and she was bullied and harassed and finally found solace from her crappy life by dancing in strip clubs. I believe she's about 37 years old as she says she was 11 in 1984 when she moved to England. She went to university and was always at the top of her class but had her secret shady life on the side. She didn't lose her virginity until 24, which seems rather hard to believe but she doesn't count her encounters with girls, and then turned to rock'n'roll after her virginity taking night with Stuart Cable from Stereophonics.

Her first backstage encounter was with the singer of Bullet for my Valentine. Oh dear. I am a metal snob, I admit it but come on lady. Though, she gets his attention by suggesting a threesome with her and her 17-year-old girlfriend and then they get in a fight with the band manager/some girlfriend and Roxana has to be pinned down so she won't kill her. Which is pretty metal, let's be honest. Velvet Revolver makes her all fangirl crazy which is kind of sweet and she hears groupies complaining about how they can't get to the band because their wives and gfs are there and is happy she isn't desperate and pathetic like them. Good girl. She's very into making the roadies happy though and likes to giggle and make out with other girls. Most of her rock star encounters so far are just blow jobs and watching others and not getting involved herself. She helps Steven Adler pee though which I guess would be weird but I've read too many groupie stories to give that a second thought. It just seems kind of, well, sad. It's all very well if this took place in the 80s but it happened in like 2001. Even the musicians themselves know they're way pst their use-by dates and the new bands just don't have "it." What seems all dirty fun and shocking in 1982 with Motley Crue and The Dirt, is just lame now because okay, it might be the same stuff over and over again but it's the same stuff over and over again. At some point you have to realize you're becoming a parody of yourself. Off the subject but I have to admit I love The Dirt. It's so crass and rude and heartfelt at the same time.

So off she goes with Lori, her little pet, and they hook up with the Towers of London whom I've never heard of so they can't be that big a deal though they look pretty enough. Except her encounter is basically date rape. She's drugged up, drunk, feeling sick, and basically throwing up on the guy she doesn't even want to be with but lets him just to get it over with. Oh honey, no.

And then she has a seizure.

Getting past that, she hangs out quite a bit with the Towers boys, illustrates her penchant for orgies, but when she starts getting feelings decides to go corrupt a teenage band called Kid Ego. This is where I laughed out loud; when describing the band's glam looks she says one particular member looked more like he got shouted at by the donut rather than the devil. Come on, that is a great line for a faux emo glam kid with baby fat. So she decides to have sex with a sixteen-year-old. And everyone else. I'm still waiting to be shocked. Her story isn't any different from any other rock star's except she's at the receiving end and is smart enough to pick up a pen and capitalize on it. Yes, she's in charge of her sexuality but meh, even though she believes she's above all the "beginner," groupies, she still acts like an entitled bitch which isn't all that different when you're observing backstage behavior.

There are the girly moments especially when she hates herself for getting feelings, and there are the gross parts where she asks a band to urinate on her, but it's just like what her idea of a groupie should be and when she goes after it, she just gets disappointed. So she does the school stuff and then falls in love with Dizzy Reed, it's all sunshine and daisies for a while, then an abortion happens, he treats her like shit and just like any rock'n'roll love story, she tries to kill herself. Well, she obviously fails but the way she writes leading up to it is so genuine and yes a little horrifying. It's like any other girl experiencing heartache and stupidity. She has an abortion and tries to forget about it and Dizzy with sex and rock stars. It's her coping mechanism and with the way she's lived her life so far, it makes sense. But there is actual shame there, she's not a brazen whore. Honestly, I'd question her humanity if she wasn't affected by bleeding from the procedure while some dude tries to nail her. This is the judgmental side of me that truly questions just how in grasp of sexuality she claims to be though. On a side note to anyone: ALWAYS USE PROTECTION. She does refer back to her family and her mom so it's not like she's a totally broken result of her life, her mommy actually is the one who convinces her to go through with it because it's the right choice. She has family and connection, it'd be pretty fucking difficult to be Iranian and not because we don't let family very far out of our loving/cloying embrace. But the way she clings to the idea of letting him, even if she loves him, still just a man, down or making him mad by having a child, when he can't even pick up the phone to respond to her, is just, no. You are not a strong, confident woman no matter what you believe, not in this state.

Which is further confirmed because she can't be described as anything but a mess as we go further along. She does the same groupie shit but her head is so far up her ass that she kind of comes off as a desperate hooker rather than a sedate rock queen. her subjects are washed up men who she doesn't give a shit about but obsesses nonetheless. That, to me, is not empowering. The whole Dizzy debacle has unscrewed her, no pun intended, and you just pity her rather than cheer on her conquests. Which I kind of approve of; Faster Pussycat, Pretty Boy Floyd, and Enuff Z'Nuff. There's even humor in her getting cockblocked because all the guys are married and Matt Sorum doing one-handed push-ups to show how not bad for a 46-year-old he is after a rather long session with her and her friend. Yes, we've reached the part of the book that's dirty and depraved and she loves it, she's having fun, and if I were to analyze it, I'd say it's her mode of control, to get off with as many people at the same time as she can. But eh, good for her if she's having fun but walking around with no underwear on your period and showing off the bloodstains on your white dress isn't badass and woohoo female statement of power. It's just kind of grow up, will you? Which is why, after a slight breakdown and various identity crises, when she meets the god of depravity, Nikki Sixx, she's let down. He likes gardening and early nights and is a businessman, not a cock-rocking animal to her disappointment. Well sweetheart guess what, he grew up. It's not a terrible thing to grow up. You can still be yourself which is what people seem to fear most about this whole growing up shebang but with her last couple chapters, our leading lady seems to realize this too.

Summary aside, the book itself is not very well written. Now don't get me wrong, it's not badly written either. I understand her Iranian penchant for trying to be flowery and descriptive with the language but it just doesn't come naturally and doesn't really flow on the page. I kept catching myself skimming her descriptives just because all right, I get it. You come from an exotic land of ripe pomegranates and figs and rice and lay on your silky carpets awash in color. See? How many of you would read that sentence over and over again? She seems to have a clear voice and once she gets past trying to be an "author" and actually writes, it's easier to swallow (hah.

Yes, there are some things that will raise the eyebrows of casual readers but for those of us with tastes that err on the band girl side, it's nothing that'll really shock you to the core. I don't think she's a dirty whore like some people have said and I don't think she can be lambasted for her actions while Patty Boyd or Bebe Buell and their ilk are treated like royalty. Every era has its own rules and ethics and she just got the tail-end of one that was dying out. Sex isn't something she's in control of as much as she'd like to believe but when you're messing that much with people and minds, how much control do you think you have? Her title is both earned but also not deserving but it would've been interesting to see it adjacent to the school career she keeps mentioning in passing. Maybe her feminism would have more weight to it if we could've actually seen her in a school environment because she has the brains and education but all we get is the backstage bimbo which she seems perfectly happy to put on as her identity.

Her exploitation of her Iranian roots and the deliberation she uses sex to highlight it is the most laughable part of the book though. This is the section that'll have people saying she's deliberately trying to be edgy and I agree. Yes, she may be educated and verbose but tying in a sexual awakening to a country in turmoil and blatant statutory rape with lyrical poetry is not romantic. Come on. These are tactics pretentious know-nothings with not a story to their name resort to, to make themselves appear worldly. She have the advantage of being worldly, there is no need to dress it up.

And finally, yes we get it. You like sex. This story isn't about how she likes sex though, and I've read it. How can one expect to be taken seriously as a voice of feminism and sexuality when instead of trying to get your point across, you slap on this title and half-heartedly try to stand by it? Can't blame people for sneering at false controversy when you market yourself that way.

And on a last, pseudo-patriotic note, WOMAN LEAVE YOUR EYEBROWS ALONE. The plucked thin and tattooed look is very in with Persian ladies, especially those who have left menopause in the dust, but it never, ever, never looks good. WE HAVE EXCELLENT EYEBROWS. Get rid of the unibrow, pluck the stray hairs, but leave the general shape of it alone.

Saturday, June 19, 2010

Give me down to there hair, shoulder length or longer, here baby, there mama, everywhere daddy daddy HAIR.

I love hair. I love long hair, I love short hair, I love hair metal. Hair is awesome. I recently chopped mine a lot. And got short bangs. I'm sort of waiting for it to grow out now because I miss my long lion's mane:

I love looking at hair styles because they're usually presented so prettily. Bright colors, dramatic make-up, and usually kitschy clothes to set it off. Hair is such an essential part of someone's look it's crazy. Sure a lot of artists reinvent themselves over and over but what stands out most in our minds is their hair. Madonna's platinum blonde with ratty dark roots hair. Gene Simmons' other stiffy; his hair helmet. The Beatles' bowl cuts. Sixties mod hair; long, straight and with full bangs. It's always used to make a statement from shaved headed punks to no-nonsense soccer mom bobs. For as long as I can remember, my hair has never been the same for a full year. I've had red, pink, purple, black, brown, blonde, streaks, highlights, lowlights, bangs, curly, straight, wavy, short, long, I think you get the picture. Hair is amazing and I need mine to start growing out. It's just getting healthy again and I would enjoy having my hair metal head with shiny curls again.

















I wish I could do this but it would probably look like crap on me.






It's vintage Mina! This is my favorite look of my sister's.

























Related Posts with Thumbnails